Ladakh

Geography

Ladakh, which in  earlier days was called small Tibet, lies in the western Himalayas. It is one of the highest and driest regions of the world, on which people actually live. Ladakh is the largest province in the northern Indian state Jammu & Kashmir. Its country‘s frontiers  are towards Tibet and Pakistan. Ladakhs population is around 160 000 and the capitol city Leh lies on 3500 meters above altitude. It is one of the poorest regions in India.

History

Three important episodes can be made out in the history of Ladakh:

Firstly, it was the nomadic tribe of the tibetean-mongolan race that lived in the Himalaya region. The Initial immigrants where from the folks of the Mon, Darden and Baltis. They lived during several hundreds of years before Christ as hunters and gatherers. As time passed by they settled and the first princedoms originated.�

Then came a time, where Ladakh was an independent kingdom, starting around 920 A.C and lasted for 1000 years.

In 1834 Ladakh was overtaken by the Indian reign. When India turned into a English colony, Ladakh did not interest anybody very much. Never the less in 1842 the Ladakhi aristocracy was empowered. In 1913/1914 a treaty was signed between Great Britian and Tibet to create a bandary between China and India. The Northern Frontier from Ladakh to Nepal was defined. It is known as the McMahon-Line.

Since 1947 India has been independent. But Ladakh lies in a very ungrateful position, with China and Pakistan as its neighbors. China does not accept the Mc Mahon- Line, and so they built in the 50ies a highway on Indian territory. This disregard for the line hat not since been clarified and the Ladakhi-Tibetean border has been closed. Both sides  guard the frontiers very carefully, but for the moment the relationship between India and China is relaxed. On the other side,  India is in fear that militant Muslims might enter the country. Therefore  most of the Armey posted in Ladakh is concentrated on guarding the Pakistani boarder. In the valley of the Indus and in the icy mountain region there are meant to be approximately  30 000 Indian soldiers.

People

 Ladakh has around 160 000 inhabitants, that means that about 1,35 inhabitant per square kilometer. But considering the habitable land area (only 4 %) it is  a deceiving number.

A Ladakhi ethnic group does not actually exist. They are much more a mixture of two races, the Darden / Gilgits (mostly from Pakistan) and the Tibetan.

Culture/Religion

Over 90 % of all the Ladakhis are Buddhists. The Buddhist philosophy was brought to Ladakh 2000 years ago from the former Buddhist India. These roots have run deep. They Ladakhi people are coined by the tibetan-buddist culture. But, especially in and around Leh, their is a minor Moslem group, which is very well excepted and respected.

Ladakh

Geographie

Ladakh im westlichen Himalaya, früher Kleintibet genannt, gehört zu den höchstgelegenen und trockensten bewohnten Regionen der Erde.

Ladakh ist die grösste Provinz im nördlichsten indischen Bundesstaat Jammu & Kashmir, grenzt an Tibet und Pakistan und zählt rund 290'000 Einwohner. Die Hauptstadt ist Leh auf 3500 m. über Meer. Die Provinz zählt zu den ärmsten Gegenden Indiens.

Geschichte

Die Geschichte von Ladakh lässt sich in drei wichtige Abschnitte untergliedern:
Als erstes lebten Nomadenstämme der tibetisch-mongolischen Rasse in der gesamten Himalayaregion. Die ersten Einwanderer waren die indoarischen Völker der Mon, Darden und Baltis. Sie lebten in den Jahrhunderten vor Christus als Jäger und Hirten. Mit der Zeit liessen sie sich nieder. Es entstanden erste Fürstentümer.

Dann folgte eine Zeit des unabhängigen Königreiches Ladakh. Sie begann um ca. 940 und sollte 1000 Jahre lang dauern.
Ab 1834 gelang Ladakh unter indische Herrschaft. Als später die Engländer die Kolonialmacht in Indien übernahmen, interessierte sie Ladakh nur wenig. 1842 wurde dennoch die ladakhische Adelsversammlung aufgelöst und der König somit ausgeschaltet.  1913/1914 wurde die nördliche Grenzlinie Indiens gegenüber Tibet entlang der Hauptkette des Himalaya, die sogenannte McMahon-Linie festgelegt.

Sie 1947 ist Indien unabhängig. Ladakh jedoch ist in einer denkbar ungünstigen Position als Pufferzone zwischen Indien und seinen beiden starken Nachbarn Pakistan und China geraten. Da China die McMahon- Linie nicht anerkennt, baute sie in den 50er Jahren eine Strasse auf indischem Gebiet. Dieser Missstand wurde bis heute nicht geklärt und die ladakisch-tibetische Grenze geschlossen. Sie wird von beiden Seiten streng bewacht. Gegenwärtig ist die Beziehung zwischen Indien und China wieder recht entspannt. Dafür fürchtet Indien ein Überschwappen der militanten Moslembewegung von Pakistan, weshalb der Grossteil der Armee sich nun auf die Sicherung dieser Grenze konzentriert. Im Industal und entlang der in unwegsamen Eisregionen liegenden Grenzlinien sind schätzungsweise 30‘000 Soldaten stationiert.

Leute

Ladakh hat etwa 160 000 Einwohner, was einer sehr dünnen durchschnittlichen Besiedlung von 1,35 Einwohnern pro Quadratkilometer entspricht. Jedoch ist diese Zahl trügerisch, denn der grösste Teil der Landfläche, genau 96 %, ist unbewohnbar.
Die ladakhische Volksgruppe als solche gibt es nicht. Vielmehr sind die Ladakhi aus einer Mischung zweier Rassen hervorgegangen, den indoarischen Darden und Gilgit (heute Pakistan) und den Tibetern.

Kultur/Religion

Über 90 % der in Zentralladakh lebenden Menschen sind Buddhisten. Die buddhistische Philosophie wurde schon vor über 2000 Jahren aus dem damals buddhistischen Indien in den Himalaya gebracht, wo sie seitdem tiefe Wurzeln geschlagen hat. Ladakh ist geprägt durch die tibetisch-buddhistische Kultur, umfasst aber auch eine moslemische Minderheit.